Bridal Designer Becomes The Bride

SIMPLICITY

When you have seen and done it all where do you start?  Classic, boho, vintage – lace, beading, ruffles – mermaid, a-line, ball gown; I love it all!  Though i appreciate all design styles I have a clear voice as a designer.  I favor sleek silhouettes, clean lines, figure-flattering proportions and high-quality fabrics.  I am always true to this as a designer…

STRUCTURAL DESIGN

I had a vision of a sheath silhouette made from silk crepe, for its gorgeous drape, with long sleeves.  Clean and modern, very Calvin Klein esque – one of my favorite designers.  I wanted it to have an architectural feel to it.  This is achieved through structural design as aposed to applied design.  Applied design are elements that are added to the dress: bows, buttons, ribbon, flowers, etc. and is very popular right now.  Structural design is in the construction and seaming of the gown.

DETAILS

My favorite design detail is the pleating on the back of the skirt.  The pleats are fitted through the buttocks to show off the figure; they end just below the buttocks and open up to add volume to the train.  Another favorite design detail is the beading on the sleeves.  I created a pattern of rows of beading.  The rows start dense at the sleeve hemline, as they extend up the sleeve the rows are spaced further apart.

BRIDAL PARTY

I did not have a slew of bridesmaids all in the same dress.  I went for coordinating instead of matching.  I made dresses for my sisters and nieces.  The venue was mission style with classic spanish design: terra-cotta floors, rot-iron fixtures and painted wood beams in the ceiling.  I did not want to fight the venue so I went with a color scheme of rust, cobalt & warm grey.   My sisters dresses were made from silk chiffon.  The print, of the long dress, was the first fabric I found.  This is what inspired the color palette.  The little girls dresses where made from a cotton rust & cream print.  We added fun details of pleats & ruffles, buttons, rust bias trim paired with a cream loped trim and contrasting topstitching.

One comment

  1. Shayna · June 13, 2013

    Beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

